My Special Gift: In One’s Eyes – A #totallyawesome #pocketpoem

Today is a special day for many poets! It’s Poem in Your Pocket Day!

In honour of this special day, I wanted to give you a special gift: the FIRST poem I ever wrote.

It is called In One’s Eyes, and I just published it over on Wording Well.

I’ll publish it here, too. 🙂

In One’s Eyes

As I search into her eyes, I see loneliness and fears.
Her face seems so empty, except for those few tears.

These tears keep on flowing, more and more from her eyes;
she makes no sound at all, only distant, muffled cries.

She wants to express her feelings, on many a different thing,
but she feels that if she does, only more loneliness it would bring.

She wishes that she had a friend into whom she can confide;
an understanding, caring person who would always be by her side.

But instead, she has no one; no one to turn to in time of need.
She feels like she is trapped, and would very much like to be freed.

As I search deeper and deeper, I see more clearly into her eyes,
because, now, the tears have stopped, and no longer are her cries.

They have disappeared, although not completely, for they continue deep down inside,
but she now feels strong enough to regain her sense of pride.

But again her feelings weaken her and, again, I see a familiar tear.
She seems so far away from me, but yet, she seems so near.

I extend my hand to comfort her; I know I’m reaching in the right direction;
But all I feel is the flatness of the mirror, because I am staring into my own reflection.

my eyes

REACTIONS WANTED!!!

Did you like my poem, In One’s Eyes?

If so, I urge you to share it with others, and leave me a comment and let me know your reactions to it.

Thank you.  🙂

~ Lorraine Reguly

fromwordingwell logo

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Emotions, Feelings, Inspirational, Life, Love
2 comments on “My Special Gift: In One’s Eyes – A #totallyawesome #pocketpoem
  1. thevanbrown says:

    Nice poem. I can never see my own reflection as others will see me. And for those I love, to be able, just once, to see themselves through my eyes.

    Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
