Behind That Teardrop

picture of a teardrop

Have you ever watched Undercover Boss? Every time I watch it, I get emotional and teards fall from my eyes. I tried to put my feelings into words and attempted to convey the significance of these dewy droplets and this is what I came up with. I’d love to hear feedback on this poem. I know one thing I’m happy about right now is that I can see. I cannot say this about everyone I know, though. I’ve met an inspirational guy recently, and had the pleasure of interviewing him and learning about his struggles. What’s ironic is that both he and I were included on a list of 9 inspirational bloggers! (Imagine my surprise at this!)

Anyways, here is the poem I wrote . . .

Behind That Teardrop

Behind that teardrop that rolls so silently down her cheek

lies emotions so vast, and strength and growth are cast.

Behind that teardrop, memories run deep. I see a streak.

Oh, my goodness I cannot help but weep.

Behind that teardrop, pain gives way to love.

Behind that teardrop, pride soars up above.

Behind that teardrop, vanquished is our grief.

Behind that teardrop is a haven of relief.

There are so many people in need.

There are so many little (and big) mouths to feed.

There are so many people struggling to live.

There are so many people with much love to give.

Behind that teardrop lie memories of joy, laughter, good times, hugs and kisses, and a loving touch;

Also sadness, sorrow and poverty – that little teardrop represents so much.

Behind that tiny teardrop is an ocean of gratitude that won’t stop.

What I’d like to know is: What’s behind YOUR teardrop?

Please share your thoughts and response.

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Emotions
8 comments on “Behind That Teardrop
  1. Loved it Lorraine, it even brought tears to my eyes and I’m not sure why, but I liked the way the poem described what tears represent, but also that they represent a healing process. Or maybe I’m all wrong, but I enjoyed it anyway.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Thanks for the compliment!

      Donna, there is no right or wrong when it comes to feeling poetry. I am touched that you were moved by this; the mere fact that my words were able to elicit such a response shows how powerful poetry can be. Have you ever tried your hand at poetry?

      Like

  2. Raani York says:

    Beautiful! I love this poem.

    Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
