Poetry Perfected Has Finally Received A Legitimate Liebster Award!

76760-liebster-blog-award5b15d

Poetry Perfected has been nominated a few times for the Liebster Award. Two of the nominations came from me, on my other blog, Lorraine Reguly’s Life, but I didn’t want to accept it since I felt like it was cheating (I nominated myself!) and so I waited until I actually earned it. Finally, I did, legitimately!

I have to thank Carly from Carly in the Kitchen for the nomination. Thanks, Carly! She was kind enough to nominate me and give this new blog a big shout-out since she found my highly ranked post on the Liebster Award helpful.

liebster4liebster6

The Official Rules Of The Liebster Award

If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award, write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:
1. thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
2. display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
3. answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
4. provide 11 random facts about yourself.
5. nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
6. create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.
7. list these rules in your post. (You can copy and paste them from here.)
Once you have written your post, and published it, you then have to:
8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)
liebster-blog-awards-2

Carly limited her rules to five questions and five blogs to nominate. So, I will, too!

So, some facts about me are:

1. I blog regularly on my other blog but don’t have a regular schedule for this blog.

2. I am a slow typist even though I love writing.

3. I prefer writing by hand. It is a lot faster!

4. I believe that creativity cannot be rushed and when it is, quality suffers. This applies to writing poetry, too!

5. I like writing poetry that rhymes; otherwise, I consider it to be prose. However, there are many different types of poetry, and so I think this is more of a personal preference.

Carly’s Questions for Me

  1. What is the best way to spend a Saturday (or whatever day your “weekend” starts”)?
  2. What is your favorite scent?
  3. For special meals, do you prefer to do all the shopping, prep and cooking yourself, or make a reservation at a restaurant? If the latter, which restaurant is your go-to?
  4. What book have you most often re-read in your lifetime?
  5. Describe your typical breakfast routine.

My Answers

The best way to spend the “weekend” is by relaxing and doing something enjoyable. For me, this includes reading, watching TV, or catching up on some sleep!

My favourite scents are vanilla and cinnamon spice. These are generally the type of candles I buy.

I like going out to eat, but I also like eating at home. If I am going out, I think my favourite meal is steak with baked potato and Caesar salad. If I am staying in, I like lobster or crab with kernel corn, and lots of butter! Pizza is always good, too!

I have re-read a few murder mysteries, but, generally speaking, I don’t like to re-read books due to time constraints. I read a lot of books, and there simply isn’t time for re-reading! However, if I am editing something, that’s totally different. Then I read it two or three times. Sometimes more, depending…

My breakfast routine involves having a cigarette. Gross, but true. I drink tea sometimes, water sometimes, and sometimes I have nothing. I like cereal with milk and a banana sliced in it, though.

My Nominees

Kim from Quiet Desperation (this is not a poetry blog, but Kim’s photos are almost like poetry!)

Oscar Kolkowski  from PHSE Poetry (this post is about bullying)

Niva from nivasblog4her (this post shows an acrostic poem)

Leo from A Bookworm’s Musing (a blog that does reviews)

Clarissa from her poetry blog, Clarissa Botchwey

Scott Brown and his blog, My Thoughts on Stuff (this post is to the first of a series of Haiku poetry)

Kenyatta Jean-Paul García from kjpgarcia (a poetry and Altpoetics blog)

The lady poet behind scottishmomus

Whispering Insights from Traces of the Soul 

Richard Ankers from his poetry blog, Richard Ankers Writes

Hakeem from his poetry blog, Hakeem’s Blog

Conrad Zwicker from his poetry blog, Conrad Zwicker

Alicia from her poetry blog, Alicia Beavis

 

My Questions to My Nominees:

 

1. Is writing poetry your favourite hobby? If not, what is?

2. What is your honest opinion of awards such as these? Do you see the value in them?

3. Who is your favourite poet – or do you have one?

4. What is the hardest thing about blogging, in your opinion?

5. Tell me whether or not you enjoy reading personal stories (true ones) of others. If so, what kind of stories do you like to read? If not, what kind of stories do you like to read? Mysteries? Thrillers? Funny ones?

liebster3

NOW, because many of you are still fairly new to blogging, I’d like to point out a few things to you about creating a great blog post. Specifically, I’ve written both a guest post and an ebook, and would like to direct your attention to my guest post on Dear Blogger, where I reveal some free blogging tips.

If you want to pick up a copy of 20 Blog Post Must-Haves and invest in your blogging future for the super-cheap price of five bucks (well, $4. 99 to be exact), I’d really appreciate it. You’ll not regret getting this jam-packed ebook, either, since it is really useful.

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Awards
16 comments on “Poetry Perfected Has Finally Received A Legitimate Liebster Award!
  1. Thank you so much for the nomination. And congratulations on your own! :)x

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Thanks! And you’re welcome!

      This blog is still pretty new, and I’m still making my way around the blogosphere. I’m active on my other blog WAY more than this one, but I think it’s time to start paying a bit more attention to it! 😉

      Happy Thanksgiving! 😀

      Like

  2. Congrats and I’ll be sure to check out some of the links you’ve listed for poetry blogs. Poetry is always the one thing I want to make more time for, but then usually don’t. I totally agree with what you said about creativity not being able to be rushed.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Thanks, Jeri, for stopping by. I saw your tweet about creativity not being rushed; thanks! 😀

      I’m going to try spending more time on this blog; I’ve been spending more time on my “main” blog. I think I had better change that! Starting now! 🙂

      I’m so grateful for these awards; they really do help others learn about a new, little blog like this one! 😉

      Like

  3. aliciabeavis says:

    Thank you for the nomination! It was lovely and has introduced me to something I never knew existed!

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      That’s the great thing about the internet – there is a wealth of information out here just waiting to be discovered. Watch my other blog for tomorrow’s post. You will see your blog mentioned in that, too! 😉

      My other blog is Lorraine Reguly’s Life.

      Oh, and you are most welcome, Alicia. (I hope I pronounced it right in the video!)

      Like

      • aliciabeavis says:

        No worries! Most people pronounce my name wrong, anyway, so I am used to it if that is the case 😉

        Like

        • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

          A-liss-eee-a is one way; I pronounced it A-lee-sha Bee-viss. Did I get it right? 😉

          BTW, thanks for following my blog. 😀

          You just made my day!

          Like

          • aliciabeavis says:

            It’s A-Liss-eee-a Bee-viss! But you almost got it!

            You’re most welcome!

            Like

            • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

              Oh. Sorry, it was really fifty-fifty that I guessed wrong on your first name. Glad I got the last name, though. 😉

              At least I didn’t call you Butthead. Ugh. How bad of an impression would I have made on you then? LOL

              Maybe I’ll be Butthead. You can be; you’re Beavis. LOL

              I hated those two guys, but I did like the AC/DC and Metallica shirts they wore…

              Do you even know what I’m talking about?

              Like

  4. hakeem says:

    thank you very much for the nomination

    Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
