An Abecedarian

 

abc

 

An abecedarian is pretty easy to write. It is a form of an acrostic poem. All you have to know is the letters of the alphabet!

Simply write out the alphabet and then fill in each line with your poem.

Here is an example of one that I wrote:

 

All these rooms are
Beginning to seem like
Cells. Where is my warden? Can I go free?
Doctors are the only ones who can
Escape their
Fate. And now, tell me mine.
Gowns cover their bodies;
Hospital protection from
Illness.
Jesus, I pray, please let me
Keep my
Life. Don’t take it away from
Me.
Not yet.
Operations from my
Past have
Really
Slowed me down.
Too little time is left. Please
Understand that.
Viewing the black and
White
X-rays, my warden has finally
Yielded the results. I have
Zero cancer! Thank you, God!

 

Do you think you can write one of these? Include yours in a comment, and share it with us.

If writing poetry is not your thing (but reading it is), then please tell me what you thought of my abecedarian. Did you like it? Did you know what I was going to say at the end of it? If so, what gave it away?

Share your thoughts, please . . . and share this poem on your favourite social media site, would you? I’d appreciate it! Thanks! πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Abecedarian
8 comments on “An Abecedarian
  1. Acrostics are always fun to write, especially when I need some inspiration to get me into writing. I’d never heard of the term abecedarian before, so thanks.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      As the saying goes, you learn something new every day!

      I like acrostics, too. One time, a boyfriend of mine wrote me an eight-line poem. Hidden in the lines of the poem were the words “I LOVE YOU”. Although each line didn’t begin with these letters, he lined up each line of the poem so that I wouldn’t miss it. It was a nice poem to get! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I always learn something from your posts. Interesting and very cool poem!

    Like

  3. Aquileana says:

    Hello Lorraine…

    Wow that is such a creative idea to write a poem and I absolutely loved the final result…

    Excellent poem indeed !

    Cheers;

    Aquileana:)

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you liked it.

      Please note that most bloggers don’t publish links in their comments, since others can simply click on your gravatar and be linked to you. I am the same way. Please don’t take offense to the fact that I removed the link from your comment.

      I do appreciate your comments, and the comments from others, and so hope that you can respect this decision. I will now be adding a page to this blog to clear things up. πŸ™‚

      I really hope you visit and comment again! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Aquileana says:

    All is good, no problem at all Lorraine…

    It is your blog and you decide how to manage my dear… !!!

    IΒ΄ll be back for sure…

    Have a great night ahead ;

    Aquileana πŸ˜‰

    Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
