The Contest Results Are In!

pic for contest results

I entered my first and only contest months ago, and the long list of 37 people has been published on the contest website. However, I did not see my name anywhere. This leads me to believe that they have made a mistake!

They announced the finalists. You can read about them here.

I think this is the last contest I am going to enter; I did it for fun. Well, that, and to win $6000. 🙂  However, now that’s it’s over, I am free to do what I want with my poems. (I entered four.) Since one of them is really special to me, I won’t be posting it just yet…I have other plans for it.

From the following poem, which was one of my four entries, I can now see why I did not win. I wrote about something that happened in the USA and I live in Canada. Oh, well. I thought it was relevant; terrorism can happen anywhere.

 

Here is my poem .

Terrorism

Conjured images of bombs, of planes hijacked,
of men and women plotting, planning,
of twin towers falling, people scrambling,
of injuries, blood, gore and death.

Smoke, air thick, breathing difficult, impossible.
Evil minds wreak havoc upon the world.
Choice matters not.

Racism ensues, continues.
Progress halts.

Attacks on religion, on people, on living beings.
Murderous rage obliterates peace.

Pieces of bodies buried beneath rubble,
beneath other people.
Bodies. Lives wasted, taken.

Survivors scared.
Psyches scarred for life,
with death.

Devastating results.

Terrorists incite much more than terror —
Fear and sadness and loss of hope.

Blackness darkens innocent hearts.

Terrorists hide, devils disguised,
Ideating destruction.

Who?
Why?

 

 

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Contest, Death, Emotions
6 comments on “The Contest Results Are In!
  1. rcprice says:

    You’re right, it is relevant no matter where you’re from. Very strong poem.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      This is one of my more recent poems. I figured it was totally relevant since airport security has been “beefed up” in Canada. Plus, you just never know WHO can be a terrorist!

      Like

  2. Don’t give up! Keep on submitting, and check out some paying anthologies too.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Great idea, Aleshia. Can you share some of the links you may have to some of them? Have you submitted some of your poetry, for pay?

      Like

  3. Definitely keep on submitting. The odds may be slim of getting picked, but you never know. Sending pieces into contests helps add an edge to the whole process that I quite like! Good luck with being picked from the slush-pile. Competition is fierce, but so worth it!

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Thanks for the vote of confidence, but I was not chosen. I have submitted another poem to a contest on LinkedIn. We’ll see what happens with that. 😉

      I appreciate your comment, Jeri!

      Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
