Dreams or Destruction?

What is failure?
What is success?
What happens to dreams shattered, left in a mess?
Why should I try, and put forth effort to succeed?
Are happiness and security my only needs?
Why should I try and make it in this world by myself?
Will the only joys I’ll ever have be stored on a closet shelf?
If I’m successful, what am I to achieve my wealth in?
If I should fail, does it leave me hope for anything?
I get annoyed with myself for asking these questions,
For I’m destroying myself without the intention.
Why do I do such things as this?
Why can’t I cry silent tears of bliss?
I suppose I know why:
I don’t, unfulfilled, want to die.
The sun is still shining,
but are the clouds still silver with lining?
I don’t want to end life
With a knife,
But a kiss.

I don’t like the title of this poem, and want to change it. Can you offer me a better title? Leave your suggestion in the comments, please!!! Oh, and if you like this,  please share it! Thanks!

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Dreams
8 comments on “Dreams or Destruction?
  1. rcprice says:

    I actually like the title. It’s an attention getter. It got me.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Thanks, Robert. It was originally untitled, like so many of my poems are, but when I decided to post them on the internet, I had to come up with titles. If ever you come across a poem that you think would be better named something else, please don’t hesitate to make suggestions to me. I love hearing from others, especially since this is my first time really sharing any of my poetry with anyone else! I definitely won’t take suggestions as insults! I’m, as you know, pretty easygoing, open, and honest!

      Like

  2. The title is good. The poem is even better.

    Like

  3. inkie123 says:

    Hi Lorraine. I like the title, but maybe something like : Silent Dreams, Wishes Unfulfilled.

    Like

  4. royalkees says:

    How about Dreams, Tears and a Kiss.
    I liked the poem.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      That’s a good suggestion, Lisa. I’m glad you like this poem! Thank you for your comment and your suggestion for a new title.

      Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
