My First Contest, The Dark Night (A Poem, with an analysis), and a Few Resources For Poets

A few months ago, I entered a poetry contest – my first one, ever – at Canada Writes. This contest charged a reading fee of $25, and the first place prize is $6000 cash, plus publications in Air Canada’s enRoute magazine and on the Canada Writes website, an interview on a CBC radio show, and a 2-week residency at The Banff Centre’s Leighton Artists’ Colony. The travelling expenses are paid for, too. Sounds pretty awesome, right? I think so. Will I win? I doubt it. But maybe, just maybe, I will. Who knows? 🙂 Apparently, I should know something on September 3rd, 2013… which is only weeks away!

Originally, I wanted to submit only one of my poems, but the length requirement forced me to submit four. They had to be previously unpublished poems, which meant that they could not be published anywhere in print, or anywhere on the internet. I chose four of my best (obviously!) and I am really hoping that I win! I wanted to include this one as part of my submission, but I didn’t; I saved it to share with you! I hope you enjoy it!

This poem is short, but it packs a punch….

This is a picture of one of my candles. I love candles!

This is a picture of one of my candles. I love candles!

The Dark Night

The flash of lightning
So razor sharp bright
Quickly sets aglow
The cold, wet, dark night.

The candle’s hot flame
Burns orange so bright.
Then, without warning,
Fades in the dark night.

Caught within a world
Of flickering light,
There is no escape
From the cold, dark night.

From time to time, I’ll be doing an analysis of some of my poetry. This is the first poem I will analyze, but it will be brief.

ANALYSIS of The Dark Night:

Note that I used the same number of syllables in each line. This was intentional, from a technical standpoint.

Imagery is present within this poem, too. Colors include black (the night sky), white or silver (the lightning), and orange (the flame from the candle).

Noise is also apparent, since lightning is generally accompanied by thunder, which is frequently loud. The image of someone being trapped indoors while a storm rages outdoors is evident from the fact that candles cannot stay lit in the rain.

All in all, I think I should have sent this poem into the contest, or maybe saved it for another one… But, I wanted to showcase my abilities on this blog, and so here is another sample of my talent for writing.

When I entered this contest, I did a bit of research on copyright laws. I found a few good links, and I would like to share them with you.

 1. How To Publish Poetry In Canada

4. Glossary of Poetic Terms – I threw this one in here since it directly relates to my book, The Life and Love of Canadian Poetry: An Interpretative View. (This book contains a comprehensive analysis of 8 poems by 7 Canadian poets, and I included a glossary of literary terms within it, too!)

5. Preditors and Editors – A guide to publishers and publishing services for serious writers since 1997

t for Canadian Poets!

Your Turn:

Did you like this poem?

Do you like to read poetry, or do you like to listen to it? Or both? Or do you even have a preference?

Share your thoughts in the comment section, please!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Contest, Imagist Poetry, Resources
14 comments on “My First Contest, The Dark Night (A Poem, with an analysis), and a Few Resources For Poets
  1. Fedja says:

    To be honest-I’m not a big fan of poetry. Actually, I’m not a fan of it at all (this can be a pain in the, humm, bum; especially when your dad is a guy who teaches language and loves poems). My biggest “reading” love has always been and always will be-novels. Plain “drama”, true-life novels (like the “Kite Runner”).
    I do enjoy, however, those poems that I can “see” into, you know? Those that somewhat reflect my current feelings.

    And this one is one of them. I think that it’s really well written, somewhat short (?) I think. Short, but sweet I would say.

    Good luck on the contest! I have faith in you and believe that you’ll, at least, show others what you’re made of. 🙂

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Poetry is not loved by everyone, that’s for sure! 😦 I’m picky about what I like, too. I don’t LOVE all poetry. I don’t expect anyone else to, either.
      In your case, you may not have been exposed to poetry that “speaks” to you, and so you might not have that big of an appreciation for it. I’m glad that you like this one, though. 🙂

      Yes, this one is short, but it conveys my meaning well, don’t you think?

      Thanks for the wishes… I am getting excited. I wrote one superb poem. It was my first poem, ever, and it was the best. I mean THE BEST. Everyone who has heard it says so. So I am keeping my fingers crossed for sure! I don’t mean to sound like I’m tooting my own horn, but out of all the poetry I have every written, the one I entered into the contest is awesome. I can’t post it here, yet, due to the contest rules and regulations, but once this contest is over, everyone will be able to hear it and read it. I’m planning on making a video of it and posting it to YouTube. Watch for it!

      Goodness, look at me, going on and on. Sorry. I just got carried away!

      Thanks, Fedja, for your support! 😀

      Like

      • Fedja says:

        Hey, no worries!

        Good luck! 🙂

        Like

      • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

        Thanks!

        Like

      • Hi Lorraine! Although your poetry blog is rather new and only has a couple of poems, I would like to feature your poetry on the Independent Poetry Society site. I don’t want to do so without your permission. You’ll see that each poem I feature gives full credit to the poet as well as a link to their blog. Also, as membership builds, I plan to hold contests. Let me know if you’re interested:

        https://www.facebook.com/independentpoetrysociety

        Either way, keep writing and have a wonderful evening!

        Like

        • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

          Thank you so much for asking me; I accept! 🙂

          I have more poetry coming, too, so please watch for it!

          I hope you have a great day!

          Like

          • Awesome, Lorraine! Posted this one on the Independent Poetry Society…can’t wait to see more of your work!

            Like

            • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

              Thank you. I have helped put word out about the IPS on G+, too. Hopefully we’ll get more people reading and contributing! 🙂

              Like

          • inkie123 says:

            Hello Lorraine, I love your idea of devoting a blog for your poetry. You have inspired me to post some of my work on my blog!

            Like

            • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

              I like the idea of having a place to post my poetry, which not everyone loves, that is separate from my other blog, Lorraine Reguly’s Life, and that is the main reason I created Poetry Perfected. The internet is huge, and having one more blog out here in cyberspace isn’t hurting anyone!

              I am thrilled to be a source of inspiration! Thanks for this huge compliment!
              Sometimes, sharing our poetry with others is scary. We don’t know how they are going to react, and if they will like it. However, I have learned that you cannot please everyone, and so you shouldn’t worry, either. If people like it, they like it; if they don’t, they don’t. Kudos to you for having the guts to share with the world your creations! 🙂

              Like

  2. Syllabic poetry is one of my favorite forms to write. When I do try writing poems, I like to pick various forms. I’m not much for free verse. Plus, it was always my favorite thing to teach when I was in the classroom. I was this close to taking a poetry class this semester, but just enrolled in a publishing class instead. Here’s to looking forward to more of your poetry, and to maybe writing one or two of my own.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      Jeri, there is a new page on Facebook, the Independent Poetry Society, that may post your poetry, so when you do write some, give them a visit. They’re new, and they’ve already featured me!

      Where are you going to school? Online? Tell me more!

      Like

      • I’m headed back to Boise State, where I got my M.A. in 2005. Now I get to take some of the M.F.A. classes I wanted to take years ago. The class I’m taking reads and selects submissions for The Idaho Review. It’s a small, but award-winning, literary journal. I’m pretty excited.

        Like

        • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

          That’s awesome, Jeri! I have not returned to “school” since I graduated in 1999 with a BA/BEd. Currently, I am teaching myself several things online!

          I’m excited for you! I loved university when I went. I miss it…

          Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
