Welcome To My New Blog!

Welcome to my new blog! Please take a moment to meet me on my About Page.

Poetry Perfected started out on the Blogger Platform, but I decided to move it, and I’m really hoping that my followers will decide to follow this blog, too. 

If you’d like to be notified each time I put up a new poem for your enjoyment, then please sign up using the “Follow” button. (Thanks, I appreciate it!)

The reason I created Poetry Perfected was to finally share with the world some of my poetry. I decided to do this after entering a poetry contest – my first ever – and I’ll admit that it took some guts to do this!

In order to meet the criteria of the contest I entered, I opted to submit a total of four poems. Because the world of poetry is so diverse, and because people have differing opinions of what makes a poem “good”, I offered four different types to give a small representation of the type of writing that I can do. I entered what I deemed my “best” poetry, and I am unable to share them with you at the moment, due to contest rules and regulations. However, once the contest winners have been announced, I’ll share them with you (unless I enter them in another contest)! 🙂

Mustering the courage to share personal things is sometimes tough, so I will begin sharing something that was written for my cousin.

I wrote the following poem for a cousin of mine who got married, and gave it to her as a wedding gift.

I hope you enjoy it. If you do, please leave me a comment! (Leave me a comment even if you didn’t! Ha! I LOVE comments!)

THE KEY TO HAPPINESS

Want for happiness, not material things,
but accept, gratefully, all that life brings.

Desire many luxuries, and strive for success.
Hold fast to your goals, and you’t have the best.

Share your innermost thoughts, hidden feelings, and fears,
And keep the doors open for whatever nears.

Wish for each other upon a bright star,
For it is this one which will take you far.

Stay close in mind, letting your souls unite;
Be together as one, seeing not darkness, but light.

Let not unimportant issues cause arguments,
For such idiosyncrasies can make relationships tense.

Do not underestimate all your hopes and dreams,
But invest in each other, and witness what the other redeems.

Savor special moments — perhaps they will be far and few.
Revel in your glories, and always keep your hearts true.

Enjoy the present, and memories of past.
The future awaits, and it will be a blast!

Be kind, patient, and honest,
And love your moments together.

Cherish your family and friends,
And happiness will be yours forever.

Don’t forget to follow my blog and leave me a comment! 🙂

Hi. I'm Lorraine Reguly, owner of Wording Well and Laying It Out There. I'm an English teacher-turned-freelancer-for hire, an author, and an entrepreneur. I offer 4 different services on Wording Well: 1. Writing. 2. Editing. 3. Coaching/Consulting, 4. Author Assistant Services. I like helping others and want to help you! Just tell me how!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Happiness
10 comments on “Welcome To My New Blog!
  1. dmauldin53 says:

    Good Poetry. I’m looking forward to sharing the journey of your new webpage with you.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      I am excited that I finally moved it! It’s going to take a while to customize it and get it to where I want it to be, but I am just happy that it’s now a WP blog! I’m so used to the WP platform now that I don’t care to learn the ins and outs of the others. I’m currently working on a background image that I can upload to the theme I chose. I might change it up a few times before I find something I like, but I’m off to a good start. Thanks, Debra, for being the first person to comment here! 🙂 I appreciate your support, and I’m looking forward to sharing my poetry with you!

      Like

  2. Blogger just can’t compare to WordPress! I’m so with you on that front. It’s also great that you have a poetry blog in addition to your other blog. I always loved to teach poetry more than any other aspect of writing, but I only dabble in writing it once in a great blue moon. I need to change that, and blogs like this help me feel more motivated 😉

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      I’m so pleased to see you here, too, Jeri! Setting up a new blog is so easy when you have a good working knowledge of the platform already. I had to adjust the theme a few times, until I found something I liked. The one you see now is different from the one I chose when you first left this comment. Let me know, please, if you think this one is better. Since this is a new blog, I want to make sure the readers like it, too! 🙂

      I’m glad I could help motivate you! 🙂

      Like

  3. rcprice says:

    Beautiful poem. I’m glad this blog is on WP now. When I first started my blog, I was with Blogger. Since switching to WP, I never looked back. Much more engagement here. Blog looks nice so far.

    Like

    • Lorraine Marie Reguly says:

      The engagement is what I have been missing. I wanted more interaction with my readers, and I dislike the new commenting system on blogger. With all the new changes that Google is making, and has made, they have left me hating my blog. Now, I LOVE it! I’m happy you’re here with me, Robert! 🙂

      Like

  4. LaDonna says:

    This is Beautiful!

    Like

Please have your say! (I LOVE getting comments!)

survivor-a toz challenge 2014 badge
Get your free copy when you sign up to my mailing list for Wording Well (my other site). Simply click on the image, fill out the form, and the ebook will be sent to you!
Categories
Goodreads
